Not so Fast!
Good Morning all,
I haven’t been here at work for more than five minutes, when something very peculiar crossed my eyes. I figured it was interesting enough to share so…. here I am . Anyway, just like every morning the first few things I do when i get in is to unload my stuff, change my shoes and then begin checking my e-mail. Oh I also run my webcam when I’m not here and have it set up to pick up any motion. We had some one come into our suite here a few months ago and nabbed some memory from our student machines at the front desk. They didnt touch my computer but did manage to steal some of my oreos from my desk. Well since then I have been running my cam at nights. But nothing to report from that, I do check the captures from the cam everymorning though and usually the only excitement i get from that is a cleaning people and their backpack vacs. SO I’m reading through my email that goes to my work address, and I see I get one addressed from Ebay. Here is an excerpt.
“Dear eBay Member,
Our fraud prevention systems have detected unusual activity from your account, This has led us to believe that your password may be known by someone other than yourself, This may cause unwanted bills and many other implications. Our aim is to protect the integrity of our service, So we have suspended your account awaiting further identity verification. We require that you visit the link below and fill out all necessary fields so that we may verify these details with your bank to allow normal activity from your account again.
To confirm your identity with us click here:
https://www.ebay.com/account/fraudverification/verification.asp?xxxxxx=xxxx
We apologize in advance for any inconvenience this may cause you and we would like to thank you for your cooperation as we review this matter.
Respectfully,
Trust and Safety Department
eBay Inc. ”
Totally valid looking email with the ebay logos and copyright info etc, but one thing stuck out and made me wonder and that was the fact that ebay has no idea of the email address that this was sent to. It came to my work address which I only use for work. (*** Don’t Go to that Link Above ***) I x’ed out part of to make sure no one does anything stupid. Well, I needed to figure out if this was truly valid or not though I really had my doubts. I was off to www.ebay.com It didnt take me long to find some documentation that proved my hunch. (you can click that link) There was a decent amount of information on the site which you can go read fro your self but all I needed was the following:
“Only enter your eBay password on pages where the Web address (URL) begins with http://signin.ebay.com/. Even if the Web address contains the word “eBay”, it may not be an eBay Web page.
These fake Web sites (also called “spoof” Web sites) try to imitate eBay in order to obtain your eBay password and access to your account.”
I suppose that this my PSA for the day but if you see an email like that be careful. I must admit It looked pretty legit and hell if this would have come to the email account that I associate my ebay with I may have clicked that link entered the various information they were requiring and some cheating bastard would have had my ebay information. But as I looked closer at the email it had become more apparent The coding from the email was not ebayesque and the link was actually masked to some Ip address etc etc. Be Careful out there folks!
Oh i get those all the time. I used to fwd them to ebay and they’d always reply “This is not from us, do not send them any information, we are investigating the source of this email”
but i’m lazy now, so i just delete ‘em.
Comment by Mat — 2/28/2005 @ 11:08 am